Stephon Marbury Breakdowns on Twitter (Vid + Info)

This is almost as sad as it is odd. Stephon Marbury has always been my favorite player in any sport.. so for this to happen I gotta post it. Check it out..

After doing a few Ustream Shows on Twitter the week before on Saturday, Steph sat in front of a camera, turned on a Kirk Franklin gospel tune and broke down crying. Not just tears, but sobs accompanied by gasping breaths, the way a kid cries after a whooping. Not more than a day later he eats a gob of Vaselinefor his sore throat. The Internet went crazy. Facebook updates, Twitter trending topics and YouTube parodies, including this one from Chappelle Show’s Ashy Larry.

Video & Whole Story Inside via

This is where we are at with Stephon Marbury. This isn’t funny anymore.

When Steph first premiered his 24/7 streaming video at uStream last week, I learned of it through Twitter feeds. I was away from my computer and as I scrolled through Friend Timelines on my Blackberry, I read gleeful tweets from people just tickled and amused with Steph. When I finally got a chance to check the first few videos, I was more exasperated than entertained, wishing Steph would just fall back for a while and chill. Bizarre can get old pretty quick. After about 15 minutes of clicking on a few links, fast forwarding through the odd rants and banal revelations, I shut it down. “If folks want to sit in front of a computer for hours and watch this, that’s cool,” I thought, “but I’ll keep it moving.” Steph kinda makes me a little uncomfortable because, well, I think he’s going through some things and it’s tough to watch/hear/read him wrestle with life. So it bothered me that everyone thought a grown man, a millionaire athlete no less, sitting in front of a camera, mostly shirtless, for hours and hours and hours was anything other than alarming. Most thought it was a joke and their tweets said it all. The LOLs, the HAAAs, the OMGs—there was rampant amusement. People were calling this entertainment. “They Tried To Put Me In A Box” t-shirts were made.

Then something happened. Saturday, Steph sat in front of a camera, turned on a Kirk Franklin gospel tune and broke down crying. Not just tears, but sobs accompanied by gasping breaths, the way a kid cries after a whooping. Not more than a day later he eats a gob of Vaselinefor his sore throat. The Internet went crazy. Facebook updates, Twitter trending topics and YouTube parodies, including this one from Chappelle Show’s Ashy Larry.

Word? Y’all think this is funny? This is hilarious to you? We are watching a man deteriorate and this nasty cascade to who-knows-where makes you chuckle? You wouldn’t be laughing if this was your brother. If this was your best friend, you wouldn’t be calling these videos “epic” and “classic.” You’d be more than moderately concerned. “What’s going on with my brother/friend/son.” Personally, I’m mortified.

Back in late 2007, Steph, still a Knick, went on NYC’s Mike’d Up and officially started acting like an oddball. He ended the segment doing a dove dance, because “it brings me closer to the light.” The past two years have been, at least to this onlooker, an emotional descent. From head tattoos, to “money makes you do crazy things” quotes, to weird, mundane, non sequitur uStream videos, it’s like Steph wants to be Mike Tyson. I fear we’re weeks away from him becoming a recurring character in Jimmy Kimmel/Fallon skits.

~ by Trey Michaels on July 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
